Dumbledore’s Army Read-a-Thon Reading List!

Have you heard of the Dumbledore’s Army Readathon? The inventive brainchild of Aentee over at Read at Midnight, it’s a great challenge to get book bloggers to read and share diverse, #ownvoices books. Below, I’ll also be sharing my little fleet of books and what makes them magical to me!

I adore this idea, not only because it provides great structure to spread the word about diverse stories, but because Dumbledore’s Army and resistance have basically characterized my mood for this last, dreary chunk of 2016.

And of course, I will be representing the house of my soul, Hufflepuff. Thanks to Aentee for this lovely graphic!

 

Name- PiaBlog- intrepidya.wordpress.comPatronus- DolphinPoints- 0.jpg

Since I try to keep my blog reviews to YA and the first-gen/immigrant experience, I will only be formally reviewing some of the books here on Intrepid. I’m sure that reflections and recommendations on Twitter, however, will be plentiful 🙂

So here’s to kicking off 2017 with an open heart and open books!

EXPECTO PATRONUM

Read a diverse book featuring an issue of personal significance to you or a loved one.

the-making-of-asian-america-9781476739403.jpg

Source: simonandschuster.com

An editor whom I admire very much gave me The Making of Asian America by Erika Lee. We’re both first-generation Asian Americans, dreamers with the onus of knowing how much our parents sacrificed for our stability. So this book on the history of immigration of Asian peoples to the Americas, on our roots and our context, means a lot to both of us.

EXPELLIARMUS

Disarm your own prejudices. Read a diverse book featuring a marginalized group you don’t often read about.

51pATEiEJnL._SY344_BO1,204,203,200_.jpg

Source: amazon.com

The Book of Unknown Americans by Christina Henríquez was recommended by a former middle school teacher. It follows the stories of several families who immigrate from Latin America to the United States and start to establish this new, challenging, hopeful chapter of their lives.

PROTEGO

Protect those narratives and keep them true. Read an #ownvoices book for this prompt.

15749186.jpg

Source: goodreads.com

I gave To All the Boys I’ve Loved Before by Jenny Han to my smart, funny, sweet hapa cousin for her sweet 16, and I’ve wanted to steal it from her ever since. Korean American author Jenny Han writes from the voice of Lara Jean, who keeps love letters to the boys she’s ever had crushes on in the hatbox under her bed. When the box disappears, and she realizes that all five letters have been sent, and she has to find a way to deal with the consequences.

EDIT: Actually, I cheated and finished this one yesterday. (My cousin wanted to discuss it, and I can never say no to this girl.) So for the Read-a-Thon, I’ll be revisiting an old favorite, Esperanza Rising by Pam Muñoz Ryan. I haven’t read this since the 3rd grade, and I’m excited to see what magic appears on the second read!

Esperanza_Rising_cover.jpg

Source: goodreads.com

REDUCTO

Smash that glass ceiling. Read a book that empowers women from all different walks of life

13214.jpg

Source: goodreads.com

I Know Why the Caged Bird Sings by Maya Angelou was an easy choice. Angelou’s poetry has always given me strength, and goodness knows I’ll need to draw from the strength of a wise, word-wielding woman come 2017.

IMPEDIMENTA

Read a diverse book left on your TBR for far too long!

51O5LjozmAL._SY344_BO1,204,203,200_.jpg

Source: goodreads.com

Another autobiography! I’ve wanted to read The Autobiography of Malcolm X since a teenager told me it changed his outlook on how he wanted to change the world. That was the only recommendation I needed.

STUPEFY

Read a diverse book that has stunned the Internet with all its well-deserved hype.

22295304.jpg

Source: goodreads.com

Shadowshaper by Daniel José Older. Teenage Sierra Santiago starts to notice that the murals in her neighborhood are crying and fading – something otherworldly is descending on the sultry Brooklyn summer, and Sierra’s the only one that can stop it.

LUMOS

Read a diverse book that was recommended by one of your fellow book bloggers.

20312458.jpg

Source: goodreads.com

Thanks so much, Sue, for recommending Tell Me Again how a Crush Should Feel by Sara Farizan! Privileged private high school drama, hilarious Iranian American protagonist, and a romance between protagonist Leila and the new girl in school? I have a feeling this book truly is, as Sue puts it, “criminally underappreciated.” I cannot wait to read and review it.

(If you haven’t already, definitely follow Sue at HollywoodNewsSource.com or on Twitter at @SueYAHollywood. Her book recs are amazing 🙂 )

 

…So let’s get this started!

Want to join in on the Read-a-Thon, or just putting together your early 2017 TBR? Seasoned diverse book bloggers Glaiza at Paper Wanderer and Naz at Read Diverse Books have tons of great recommendations for each category on their #DAReadaThon posts!

As for me, I will be spending a chill New Year’s Eve at home with some friends and fuzzy socks on. Tomorrow, let the reading begin!

I’m so excited to know what you’ll be reading first in 2017!  By the way, if you’re out there, are there other Hufflepuffs participating? I mean, I get it if you’re a book-loving Ravenclaw or one of the cool, “main character” houses. You do you. But… other Hufflepuffs, could you just let me know if you exist? Thanks.

74d467c0623cd7728f9cb9d42065a462.png

 

One thought on “Dumbledore’s Army Read-a-Thon Reading List!

  1. Pingback: Book review: The Book of Unknown Americans by Christina Henríquez | Intrepid YA

Leave a Reply

