6 Things I’m Thinking About 1/13

What’s been on my mind beyond this little blog? Below, find immigrant and first-gen youth sharing their stories of hope and hard reconciliation, timely books, and my own adventure visiting the Japanese American National Museum in LA!

6 Things.jpg

  1. This story is a testament to the possibility that creative writing fosters. Over 70 high school students – many of them immigrants, aspiring authors and writers – wrote bilingual English/Spanish children’s books inspired by their own stories. Will I be reviewing these young authors’ books in the near future? I sure hope so 🙂
  2. “I realized then that no matter how hard I played by the rules, some people would never see me as a person of academic and professional success.” Amanda Machado, daughter of immigrants and an alumna of my university, reflects on the realities of the American Dream. A powerful read that resonates with me deeply.
  3. But what if we started tackling change before college? In an increasingly diverse country, talking about race and racism in the classroom should no longer be optional – urban teacher education programs are leading the way.
  4. Exciting news!!! Teen Vogue lists 10 Diverse Books by YA Authors of Color to Read in 2017. I’m revving up my Christmas Barnes & Noble gift cards for The Hate U Give, When Dimple Met Rishi, and American Street.

    ya-woc-00.jpg

    Source: teenvogue.com

  5. Because a part of my heart will always be in children’s books: Lee & Low Books suggests 6 books to celebrate Martin Luther King Jr. Day.
  6. On a rainy night in LA, my mother and I visited the Japanese American National Museum in Los Angeles. For anyone in the southern California area, I highly recommend visiting this beautifully immersive museum. It’s heartfelt, curated with care and intention, with a committed Education staff. I might write a separate post on it, but here are a few images that have resonated with me – I hope they resound with you, too.

unnamed-4.jpg

unnamed-3.jpg

unnamed-1.jpg

What stories are on your radar this weekend? Yours and others’ – I’d love to hear about them 🙂 

 

4 thoughts on “6 Things I’m Thinking About 1/13

  1. Fantastic roundup, need to make the round and check out these links and thoughts! Hope one day I’ll get to visit the museum😊
    Related but not especially current, I’ve started collecting all things “Where are you from?”, That damned question, in lit and other media. Different reactions in how we POC deal and the sameness of those Othering us. It’s starting to be a giant collage.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Aaaaaahh that question! It’s such a charged question. Is this a collection that I can find on your blog, by any chance? I would love to see what you’ve gathered thus far! (But if it’s a more personal piece, I completely understand as well.)

      Liked by 1 person

      • Awww thanks! Not yet, it’s basically a lot of post-it notes and Evernote notebooks😁🙈 Need to check if anyone’s done this already, if not I was thinking of making a Tumblr later this year🙄

        Liked by 1 person

      • Oh, I totally know the feeling of having a lot of thoughts buzzing around on stray Post-it notes. Whether your ruminations come to manifest on the Internet or not, it’s a meaningful question to be interrogating personally anyway. So, no absolutely pressure and all support from me! ❤

        Like

Leave a Reply

